Weaving in ends…a never ending task.

Weaving in ends is the chore I hate the most. I hate weaving in ends so much, that I have been known to crochet over them as much as possible, or create a fringe to incorporate all the loose ends…there are many creative ways to avoid weaving in ends; unless you can’t.

I just finished the skirt I designed for my teenage daughter, and am thinking of submitting for the design contenst for the CGOA (if I’m not too late). I have spent all evening weaving in ends, and then I still didn’t like the skirt. I realized why once I wove in all the ends, or at least part of the reason anyway; I resented it. I resented the skirt for being that kind of project, you know the kind…the kind where I have to weave in the dang ends. So, I put it down, walked away, had a cup of tea, ate a salad, and came back to it.

Oddly enough, that brief moment of walking away made me look at the skirt in a different light. First of all the daughter loves it. Secondly, the real reason I didn’t like it, is that it needed just a little “something” to finish it. When I figured out that the little something was a really quick and simple fix, I did it, wove in the ends, and voiila. I actually like the skirt now.

Weaving in ends is kind of like the details of life. The little chores we don’t really enjoy doing that make everything else just look better, or at least allow for the space to see what is the real issue. So I am here to say that this week, I will be weaving in some ends in the CLF to do list.

I don’t ignore those ends, there are just a lot of them, and I am only one person. I will be getting in touch with a few of you in order to get some help on some minor details that I do not have to do on my own. But, sadly, some of these things are up to me, and me alone. I don’t mind it, I don’t avoid them, they just pile up, and I’m working through them while staying current on the dailing stuff. So, last week I worked on the website, this week tying up some other loose ends to do with CLF stuff, and I will get back to working on book two.  One of my top priorities is getting a day planner.

What? I don’t have one? Nah, I threw out my old one 10 years ago, swearing I would never own one again (that and a watch), and sigh…here I go getting one. Never say never.

One response to “Weaving in ends…a never ending task.

  1. Now there’s something to think about! I need to do that whenever I walk away from projects thinking “I HATE WEAVING IN ENDS!!!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

