News, Notables, and Male Members

The weekend approacheth, and I’m busy beyond belief. Half of my to-do list didn’t get done this week, due to some insane wackiness that was sent my way by ill winds of fortune. Luckily, I banished the winds to their rightful place, and am trying to get back on track! YAY. So, this post is going to be a hodge podge of CLF awesomeness!

First of all, the CLF Sponsored Flamie Awards are getting mentioned in print! The latest Interweave Crochet magazine (and on the Crochet Me site) they have an ad for the magazine feature their 2008 Flamie Award for Best Crochet Magazine! That graphic was designed by Darlisa Riggs (Fignations on Ravelry), she is a fabulous artist and also manages and runs the awesome E-Zine Crochet Un-Cut, the Official Unofficial Magazine of the Crochet Liberation Front.

Yup, I just said it. Male members.  We have them in the CLF and while I often wax on about feminism, I acknowledge with ferver that men indeed crochet (and knit, and weave, and spin, and do all the kinds of crafting women do), and we have many men in the CLF. Many of them notable crocheters in the industry, and some notable in their awesomeness as CLF members, and all of them notable not because they are male, but because they are awesome crocheters. They happen to be male.

One such member, is Josh, who’s article on male inclusion into Chat-n-Chains (or Sit and Knits) is featured on the Crochet Insider’s fabulous E-Zine. It’s worth the read, it’s funny, short and makes a really good point. As much as we do not like being harassed as women when passing a construction site, men don’t like being harassed when coming to a handworking event. Oh wait there are female construction workers? Yeah, and there are male handworkers. Equality folks. Let’s not harrass the guys, especially if we don’t like being harrassed!

Oddly this article is timed with some of my very own thoughts on the subject of male handworkers. As I wrote above, I know I have written plenty about the feminism side of life, and have been wondering if that has made the guys in the CLF feel a bit left out. It was and never is intended to leave our male members out of the loop or not included. And I was about to write a post up just for them. Josh, however did a much better job of it, and I think I’m pretty clear in the CLF Manifesto that we crocheters come in all flavors, and sizes.

So with that in mind I’m off and running to the rest of my day, and hoping to get more off that to-do list! YAY for crochet we’re doing more and more out in the world folks. Let’s just keep hookin!

4 responses to “News, Notables, and Male Members

  1. Somehow I don’t think I realized you were on wordpress Laurie! Nice article! I’ll start using CLF in some of my tags!

    • Thank you 🙂 I moved the CLF Blog over two weeks ago because I got fed up of blogger. But, I haven’t deleted the old blog just running a feed over to it.

  2. Your comments on male crocheters were very timely. I was at an American Cancer Society Relay for Life fundraiser last weekend, and one of the participating teams had some really nice crocheted hats for sale. The team was made up of employees from a local prison. The hats were made by the Crochet Club at the prison. It’s a men’s prison, so I’m sure all the crocheters are men. They do excellent work, and the hats were selling briskly. The night air was cold, and a beautiful crocheted hat was just the ticket to ward off a chill. I was also pleased that the name of the club was the Crochet Club even though there were a few knitted hats among all the crocheted ones. For once crochet was not taking a back seat to knitting. Woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

