Baby Got Drape!

Vashti Braha brought up a good statement on Twitter…We keep getting accused of not having drape…

In the infamous words of Blue from Foster’s House of Imaginary Friends…”Aw COME ONNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!”

Give me a break. Of course you can have drapey crochet. It depends on the fiber, hook, and stitch pattern. Huh, kinda like in the other craft.  I mean each fabric is created with a property in mind. Sometimes we want stretch, some times we want no stretch, some times we want to have drape and sometimes we do not. HELLO WORLD…it’s called options, and choices.

Once again may I reiterate, understanding fiber properties is the key to achieving the look, and feel you wish to have in your projects. You can not use a “bouncy” stretchy wool and get the drape of say, Merino wool. Merino has very little stretch memory (especially commerically processed Merino they take all the life out of it), and so it drapes much like a plant fiber (linen, cotton etc)…Obviously unless you are using a mongo hook with kitchen cotton a J hook isn’t going to give you drape, right? I mean really think about it, you have to have some ease in your stitches to achieve drape.

Just making a little point here, of course we can have drape if we want drape. Duh…duh and more duh. Before you let some ignorant person put down your crochet, and say it can’t have drape just ask them how they know this? Are they repeating the information from someone, without EVER having checked out to see if it’s a fact or not?

And if you happen to be making a basket out of crochet at the time, say, “Sure I can get drape, but how would my basket stand up then?”

Ignorance astounds me.

4 responses to “Baby Got Drape!

  1. You know, on a similar note I was just thinking the other day about how sometimes the “stretchiness” of knitted fabric can be bad. I just bought a swiffer mop/broom the other day for the first time and I decided I wanted to make reusable covers for it out of cotton. I started knitting one with the intention of it being the “mop” cover, and I realized..this thing is going to stretch the stitches making it more holey, become loose, and fall off. In this instance, I’d rather crochet tightly with the correct stitches to get a nice stiff fabric that would also help scrub better.

    • Exactly my point. Sure if we want drape we need it! And if we want firm, we need it! When I want a knitted feel and look I use appropriate stitches and fibers. When I need something to look woven, again I use different and appropriate techniques. When I need stiff, firm, structural fabric, I use the appropriate stitches for that 🙂 Crochet is so lovely and diverse that for someone like me who is “Knitlexic” at least I have those options. 🙂

  2. Lovely rant, I’m glad to have a hand in it! When I’ve worn crochet at conferences, the drapier it is, the more often people assume it’s knitted. This says to me that people have seen crochet drape all along and not registered it. It gets put in knit category (or occasionally handwoven category) in their brains and crochet doesn’t get the credit.

    I think crochet is my all time mostest favoritest because of its RANGE. It gives me the widest range of fabric choices of all.

    • Hookaleuia Sistah and Yarnmen 🙂

      Actually, I’ve decided to use the competition as an educational project… 🙂 YAY! Maybe we can thump a few melons into “getting it”!

Leave a Reply

