Sock Summit: Day 2 more loot & Superheroey Goodness

Biff and BAM!

Biff and BAM!

Ok, so today I remembered to put the SD card IN my camera! Whoo! There’s a thought.  So I woke up late today, and had to run into Portland to get to Jasmin and the crew of the Knit More Girls Podcast. Despite the K word in the title of the podcast, these lovely ladies are cheerleaders for Croch-equality! Crochequity! and well all the fine stuff we are!

I realize that they have a lot of pointy stick listeners, and so I was to the point…get it? To the point? Never mind yet another horrible Fearless Leader pun. We had a fun interview, even though poor Jasmin was feeling quite unwell (she had recovered later in the afternoon, and I was so glad to hear that. Her mother is a doll by the way!) So, we discussed the publishing industry, and the CLF’s beginnings, I tried to plug as many of our beloved CLF members as I could think of (and I hadn’t finished my morning coffee yet, and I know I missed more than a few of you!)…I brought my tunisian knit stitch swatch with me, and showed them my version of the k activity. They were mystified and impressed! YAY…Damn fine if you ask me ;)(I really have my tension down on that stitch now, and it looks really polished)…but we also talked about how silly it is to judge crafts, and how important it is to enjoy what you do no matter what. Because really, isn’t that what truly matters? But I did not leave out how hurtful, and personal putting down crochet (or any creative activity) has been for so many people.  I even mentioned that I had been fully prepared to deal with an at best lack of acceptance of crochet at the Sock Summit, even in the market place …but was pleasantly shocked that I got NO SNUBBING! Not once. What a record…And I wasn’t even sporting CLF regalia when I did my first lap through,because  I was testing the waters. (Don’t worry had their been snubbery, I’d have gone straight into action using my Crocheted Super Hero Cape!)

So what did I get today? More Laurell Hill Hooks (cause I just knew I’d regret not doing it), and a skein of very pretty silk/linen yarn, and a fabo swift from Paradise Fibers, and some devil ducky stitch markers from our very own Craft Kitten’s friends! I also got some beautiful buttons and some camel/silk roving from Crown Mountain Farms!

OOOH OOOH! And I won a door prize! How cool is that or what? I never win door prizes, and it was two beautiful skeins of handspun! I was so stoked! They came with a Cowardly Lion Doll!

However the highlight of the day was doing a second “photo shoot” with CLF Member Mortaine, aka Stephanie of Handk…Heros! (Which is a bistitchural comic book btw and very freakin’ funny!) Check out more secret identity photos on the Handknit Hero’s website!

Before the fight

One response to “Sock Summit: Day 2 more loot & Superheroey Goodness

  1. Howdy y’all,

    Do you have any or know where I can find patterns for any of the superheros crocheted dolls? Your dolls are pretty dat come cute. thanks

    Patsy
    cottonbelle@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

