Due diligence…with a hook.

So, I’m having to totally redo my whole podcast thoughts, and it may end up being a photo montage of the year to date since that seems to be working more for me than the stupid webcam…(*&*&^*(%&@^#^$*& frustrated words…

In the mean time I am working away on the CLF Adult book, doing a few patterns at a time, and deciding where those patterns will fit together in the book, then writing the filler text, though I will be asking a few CLF members for help with that part. It’s really hard to switch gears from editor to writer in this process (at least for me) and partially due to the fact that I tend to work on the book at night, when most of my creative juices have been poured into my parenting.

Why is it taking so long? Um, well…cause it is. Call it quality control, call it RAM issues (even with the upgrade), call it the stupid program ceasing to respond and hoping it recovers, call it I’m the mom of two teenagers, one who is just beginning to get really social and active in her own life, but still needs mom 😉 LOL…Sound familiar?

Luckily the same said teen bought me what I wanted for Mother’s Day which is the book, “The World According to Mr. Rogers.”…what does this have to do with crochet OR the CLF? Lots.

Before I got the book I used to “joke” that Mr. Rogers saved my life, after getting the book and reading through the quotes, I realized that he really had saved (ugly ugly childhood) and influenced me in so many positive ways. I keep that book nearby, and when I’m feeling over loaded, or pressured, or not good enough, I can read those words and know that Mr. Rogers would get “it.” (See I’m really not as Fearless as the title I’ve been given!)

Lots of people made fun of that man, but frankly from those I know who actually got to meet him, he really was the nice man you saw on television. By no means, perfect (who is?), but he truly believed that striving to understand the human condition and spreading the word of acceptance of who and what you are was vitally important. I’m glad he did…Because it got through to this kiddo, in fact I was such a literal child that when I was four or so I thought he really was talking to me through the television set! I was his friend, I was special to him.

Again what does this have to do with the CLF? Loads. A great deal of what I try to do is based off those same principles: Keep it positive, empower others, and know that you are not a one person army. It takes lots of people to get things done, and in this world of uncertainty and fear mongering the more of us who can band together in a positive way, the surer we can make our lives together… And to not give up, but keep doing your best even when it doesn’t seem like you are getting a whole lot done!

I think we can all use a whole lot of that list above, and knowing that almost 4,000 people want to make a positive change in the world, even for something as seemingly insignificant as crochet, is pretty awe inspiring! Thank you so much for the inspiration…and yeah, I think you are all pretty darn special too!

Leave a Reply

