Art Deco Scarf absolutely Sets My Picot Free!


SNC00003

Originally uploaded by figpox

CLF Member Figpox created this gorgeous scarf as a charity project! Who ever wins this scarf is one lucky person! Figpox used Patons Silk Bamboo to fashion this stunning pattern by Brigitte Read found here, http://littlegreen.typepad.com/romansock/step-by-step-broomstick-l.html

Broomstick lace is one of my favorite techniques because it can be so very visually appealing. It’s not a difficult technique to master,and once you get your feel for it, you can whip out stunning projects that have delicate and airy feel, and yet a real solid integrity!

I love what Figpox did in chosing the colors of the yarn, and the content absolutely is a perfect choice for this kind of construction!

Congratulations Figpox, you are a winner! Consider yourself awarded the Set My Picot Free Award for outstanding crochet composition!

3 responses to “Art Deco Scarf absolutely Sets My Picot Free!

  1. Theresa Brockman

    This is gorgeous! And I have to say that the yarn is just wonderful to work with.

  2. Gosh…thanks so much! Broomstick lace is actually a breeze once you get the hang of it, and since you’re not doing any decreases or increases with that scarf pattern, it was easy. I learned from Jennifer Hansen of Stitch Diva Studios at her workshop at Knitters Connection in Columbus, OH this summer. An important tip…make sure the yarn you choose has some serious drape/hand. The yarn that I chose was a bamboo/silk blend, and the bamboo made it halo up a little bit. A pure silk plied yarn would be amazing.

    The funny thing? I won my own scarf in the raffle drawing. But I gave it to a friend who hadn’t won anything. 🙂

    • LOL Well you & your friend are so lucky! LOL That’s a brilliant ending to the tale of the “Charity” scarf…gorgeous.

      I took Jennifer Hansen’s class too and I LOVED it! She’s such an awesome instructor and made broomstick a breeze! It’s addicting.

      I’m with you on choosing fiber content too, drape and more drape…

      Congratulations again. I just love the scarf!

Leave a Reply

