Christmas time crochet and the list goes on…

So, I decided this year I was going to crochet presents. I crochet fast. In fact, I crochet very fast. I really could be my own one woman sweatshop. Heck if I get really desperate I can pay my daughter poorly so she can join in on the sweatshop action (tongue in cheek!)…

So, life got hectic in October. Beyond, my normal work, I added extra, and then of course my father in law passed away so very quickly that we’ve spent the last week just trying to wrap our heads around the situation. Oh my he is very missed.

We know our holidays are going to lack a little luster this year, and probably for the next few to come. So, today when we got together with my husband’s siblings and their families, I asked, “Who’s up for afghans?”

I have teenage nieces, and a 10 year old nephew, they were the first to raise their hands! I mean I know they like it when I make them things, but wowsies! How cool was that?! I told them all they will be lapghans, and I’ll make them in favorite colors, and that it is unlikely that they will be all done by Christmas. But I can give them hats and scarves first in a stitch pattern that I’m doing their comfort-ghans in.

I told thim it’s an Aunty Laurie hug. Just because right now we all need a lot more hugs and we live far away from each other. No immediate hugging gets to happen.

I love being able to do this. I’m half way through the squares for my mother in law’s comfort-ghan. She gets the first one, because as much as we all lost a very important person in our lives. Her loss is the hardest, she lost the love of her life. I can’t do a lot about that, but I can crochet some love.

So my crochet list gets longer just as the holidays hit, but that’s ok 😉 Even if a few are late, that just gives me an excuse to visit later with crocheted hugs to hand out.

I’ll post photos of the squares when I get a chance to scan them. I’m using Bonnie Pierce’s 24 Blocks on a Roll. Beautiful squares with bullion stitches! You can check out Bonnie’s fantastic work on her website!

3 responses to “Christmas time crochet and the list goes on…

  1. Got started on my dad-in-law’s scarf last night (at about midnight — I wasn’t looking at the time!). Dee’s Tumbling Clusters scarf pattern, and it’s working up REALLY fast and a lot of fun! (Actually it’s a second start — was trying to do a Tunisian keyhole scarf but didn’t like how it was coming out so frogged it to use for the cluster scarf.)

    I like the idea of crochet as a permanent hug. 🙂

  2. I like the afghan-hug idea too. My family also lives far away so in person hugs are few and far between. Shawls might accomplish the same thing (for the women at least) since I am not a wicked fast crocheter like our Fearless Leader!

  3. I love clusters…I may have to do some clusters…I like shell stitches too, they work up so fast 😉

    Shawls are great too…slippers…and scarves… 🙂 depends on the folks you’re making them for!

Leave a Reply

