Comfort-ghan Blocks

Crochet, Bullion Stitch, cross motif

Second block for mother in law's comfortghan.

None of these have ends woven in, or edged, just the raw finished blocks. They are all approximately 6 inches by 6 inches. I am making plain squares to go between the bullions. Each square will be different, because I just can’t choose one of the blocks to work with! This is a nice bulky yarn and I’m using a K hook.

Bullion Square, Crocheted.

Another block for mother in law's afghan.

Block a, Bullion stitch afghan square: Crochet

One of the blocks for my mother in law's comfort-ghan.

I love doing bullions. I honestly don’t do them often enough in my projects, since I really do love making them. When I was deciding what kind of afghan to make for my mother in law, I happened upon Bonnie Pierce’s book, Twenty Four Blocks on a Roll, in my office. Besides being a dear friend, Bonnie is an exceptionally gifted, talented and generous person, still I didn’t buy the book because of all of that; I bought the book because it’s full of very beautiful squares.

Never mind that afghans are the one project I make the least, I had to have this gorgeous collection of squares that just defy the “same ol’ same ol’ reputation of crochet.

I never follow a pattern to the letter, though I am following her stitch counts. I think freeformer that Bonnie is, she’d be dissappointed if I actually used the color schemes as prescribed in the book.

Aren’t these just beautiful? To see the original blocks go to her website http://www.elegantcrochet.com.

3 responses to “Comfort-ghan Blocks

  1. Those are all great. I wouldn’t be able to choose either. And I have just added another book to my wish list. Good think my hubby is a book addict too, or I might be in trouble.

  2. Ok, I just went over to Bonnie Pierce’s web site, and I had to come back here and leave another comment. My jaw literally dropped when I saw her work. It’s fabulous. Dang, I shouldn’t find all this eye candy at this time of night because now I’ll be up too late gawking. Again.

    • Hehehe…Yeah, Bonnie’s work is amazing 🙂 She’s also one of the kindest, nicest people you ever could meet! She teaches around the NW. If you ever get a chance to take her classes, you should jump at it!

Leave a Reply

