Holiday Crochet: Making Memories

When I was a little girl, I had many  gifts given to me that were made by grandmas and aunties, and my mom. I loved those gifts; doll dresses, my very own Christmas ornaments, hats, the world’s longest scarf, bean bag critters, a leather pouch WITH fringe, necklaces, and ponchos, even a really cool Humpty Dumpty that fit over a “L’eggs Egg” and doubled as a penny bank.

 Oh sure people like to put us down, especially those snobby types, but frankly I don’t know if those snobby types would understand, “magic of the season” if it snuck up behind them and glittered their behinds.

Truly, what you do has a value, and the things you make, perfectly stitched or wobbly and just beginning , are making the magic of the season happen. When you can delight a child or friend, or spouse or even better yet yourself, with your crochet creations you have achieved something wonderful! You are directly responsible for making memories! Don’t think the youngsters won’t appreciate what you do. Even in our “throw away culture” kids aren’t stupid, they know and feel love when they see it! Adults are the same way, and if they can’t? Well, just feel bad for them (and don’t make them anything for a while, if ever again.)

You are not a sweatshop, you are not cheap labor, and those things shouldn’t exist anyway. Don’t let the pressure of the season get you down. Don’t let snide comments get you down. Because a simple crocheted rose on a hair clip, can make a face light up. Heck, I’ve made old ladies eyes light up with those! When what you do adds value to someone’s life not just because of the tangible and physical value of the object, but because you invested your purpose and time into the item made, you have given one of the greatest gifts of all: you.

That’s not too shabby.

3 responses to “Holiday Crochet: Making Memories

  1. Wonderful! Thank you for writing this!

  2. Huzzah!!!

  3. Well said! I still remember the crocheted slipper socks my aunt made us. I don’t know if I really appreciated them then, but I have fond memories of them now.

Leave a Reply

