Daily Archives: March 25, 2010

CLF News: Activism Pays Off!! Success!

Dearest CLF Members and Crochet Lovers,

After two and a half years of ceaseless struggle, and positive proactive action, I am proud to share a success with you! As you know, we crochet lovers have complained bitterly for years about the lack of crocheted samples in yarn stores, and big box craft stores. Tonight, I saw first hand that our pleas for equitable treatment have been answered and I want to first thank you for remaining ever vigilant, and secondly thank the yarn brands and the store for finally offering us samples of yarn worked up in crochet!

Lily Sugar n Cream as well as Michael’s store brand of yarn, both had large samples of crocheted pieces on display, well in view, with their yarn at Michael’s in Smokey Point, Washington. I know this, because I went there tonight on a last minute I need yarn for washcloths run. I was stunned, I was surprised, I squeed in glee. I floated and bounced, and even my 16 year old daughter was tickled and did not admonish me for practically skipping through the store!

I am so happy to see this! It was wonderful to see the work in plain sight, for all the world to see. And they were PRETTY samples, well crocheted, in nice stitch patterns, they showed off the yarn, and were finished…yes, the samples were finished…

As you know I have taken Michael’s to task here on this blog, and you also know I am all about fairness. So, here it is…Michael’s I know I told you before that you had made “Little Timmy cry”, but tonight, you made Laurie giggle in crochet glee. Thank you so much for listening, and we hope to see so much more! (I bought even more sugar n cream that I had planned, just to support the samples!)

