Back off Grandma, people!

Dear Readers, CLFers and Fiberistas,

I have been a bad blogger. True the end of Spring heralds a level of activity that makes the need for Warp Drives even more apparently obvious, but the real truth of it is, since Grandma died I haven’t had a ton of inspiration for my writing. I have a million things to do at home with the kids,who being teens are busy with life and friends, and activities, and I have presents to make for family, still working on the comfort afghans…and and and well, I’ve had my ups and downs.

The truth is, there is a hole in my life that will be filled someday (maybe), I miss my grandma with everything in me. So much good has happened in the last month, and I still pick up the phone to call her, and then remember that no earthly phone will work.

So, here’s the blog post you’ve all been waiting for me to get around to. I know I’ve said it before, but I felt I need to say it again. Back off the anti-grandma and mom sentiments.

“Ain’t your mama’s crochet” and “Ain’t your grandma’s crochet”: What the hell is that supposed to mean? My mom crocheted (she mostly sewed) but her stuff was cool, my aunts, my great aunts, my mother’s mom Grandma Grace was an expert crocheter, my Great Grandma crocheted…I still have their things, they are a connection to those people some of whom I knew and some I never got the opportunity to meet.  I would also like to point out I am a crochet mama and my kids and neices and nephews love what I make them…Not all of what I make is the “latest” or “trendiest” designs, some of the items are right out of 1955, and I wasn’t even born yet, I just possess the patterns!

Back off the grandma and mom kick, because frankly I am insulted. Why is being a mom or a grandma a bad thing? Why does it make us less? Why is it not fashionable to be the person who raises and loves the children who grow up to be adults and hopefully contribute something to this planet, besides a big mess? WHY?

I will tell you once again, I only wish I could be half the crocheter my maternal grandmother was, her work taught me more than any modern book.

That and again, I’m a little raw, I just lost my grandma, the one that didn’t crochet, but she made damn good clam fritters. She never taught me to make them, but I watched her do it. As a result last night I made a dinner feast like you wouldn’t believe…so get this people: Grandmas are important and so too are mothers, don’t deride the people who love us and hopefully cared enough to be there for us.

/end rant

10 responses to “Back off Grandma, people!

  1. It’s been 24 years since I lost my grandmother, and 2 years my mother… and I still want to pick up the phone (or, in my mother’s case, send her e-mail). I’m not sure that hole ever fills up.

    I’m fortunate to have things that my mother and grandmother created– hope you do, too.

    -Perry-

    P.S. Typo in your heading “Ravelry”.

    • Thanks 😉 And yeah, maybe the hole never will fill up, but maybe one day grandkids will come and I can be there for them 🙂

    • Sigh…so for over a year that’s been there, and you’re the first to tell me. I feel like I’ve been walking around with my skirt tucked up in my undies and no one told me! Thank you!

  2. Yeah! Thank you. My mom taught to me kit, although she did crochet at one time. Mom prefers to crochet is all.My mom is not in good health and I am not sure how I will manage when she passes on! She will be 74 in November, but I can tell she is tired. Her body is giving out. I get upset to when people deride crochet as not you Mom’s/Grandma’s crochet! I love the kitschy stuff from the ’60’s and 70’s, in fact I have been working on a dress from that era done in granny squares. There was absolutely nothing wrong with that era at all.

    Cora

  3. Preach on, sister! My granny mostly sewed, but she did make my brother and I each an afghan. I wish she had taught me how to crochet, but I did learn to play a pretty mean hand of cards. If I could make things half as beautifully as she did, I would be happy. I miss mine too.

  4. Amy (aka GreenWoman)

    I totally agree. I think one reason we hear so much of this is that “women’s work” in general still tends to be undervalued. Sigh. What century is this?

    I wish I’d known my grandmothers (and my grandfathers for that matter). One died before I was born and the other when I was 2. I have some vague memories of the latter. I understand she was quite the seamstress. I don’t know that either of them crocheted, but I have some pillowcases that somebody (great-grandma possibly) crocheted on edging on. They’re gorgeous. I’ll take that “grandma’s crochet” any day.

  5. Wow. I have to say, I hear ya. I’ve written the same thing myself over at Crochetville…albeit that was a while ago. I think people use those phrases to update and make hip the image of crochet…without realizing that, yes, it is an insult to all of those talented women (and men) who paved the way. Imagine the creativity they possessed … without computers, relying on pure talent. I love all the old kitsch – right down to T.P. covers. 🙂 I wasn’t lucky enough to have grandmothers on either side. Sigh. However, I did have a family friend we called Aunt…and she was an amazing seamstress. I sat with her many a Saturday hand sewing Barbie clothes from her leftover fabrics. Of course, I don’t have any of those today, and what a shame that is. One of the most wonderful items in my house was given to me by a friend of my husband…a Singer treadle machine. I treasure it as if it was given to me by a phantom grandma. Weird, I know. Anyhow, I’m sorry for your loss, I share your pain and loss, and I send you healing vibes. Donna

  6. sarah aka msbusyfingers

    I am right there with you on this, Laurie. I don’t think I will ever be as stylish, hip, or cool as either of my grandmothers were. I still miss them everyday. I celebrate their birthdays each year by sending memories to family folks. I’m the self proclaimed keeper of the grandparent birthdays! It makes me feel better and sometimes it coaxes out stories from my aunts and cousins.

Leave a Reply

