A must have, must read!

Normally I worry about books with titles that have the words “Everything” or “Complete”…those are very broad concepts, and whereas it is indeed never possible to have EVERYTHING or a COMPLETE work in any tome of knowledge, I have to say I was more than happy to get my mitts on a copy of Margaret Hubert’s book, The Complete Photo Guide toCrochet… By the way check out her website too!

It is completely wonderful that’s for certain. First of all there is a wonderful article by crochet expert Nancy Nehring that I didn’t know was included! It’s worth having just for that wonderful piece of history and understanding of our art/craft! I did know that anything Margaret Hubert does will be well done, and explained well. I have had the pleasure of meeting Margaret on several occaisions and she is a very creative and thorough person! Her book expresses this through out, fabulous directions both written and charted, excellent examples of crochet stitches and the photography and design of the book is beyond the pale.

I am by no means a beginner and yet I want to own this book because a) it is a great teaching reference and b) there are techniques in there I have yet to master! Some tunisian stitches I haven’t tried, and some advanced techniques that I really want to try now that I’ve seen the photos!

Margaret had the cream of the crochet crop help her with samples for the book and there are BEAUTIFUL examples and patterns that help you master the techniques…This is a MUST have no matter what level you are at, definately destined to be one of those crochet classics long into the future!

Margaret has been twice awarded our CLF Flamie Award as Best Free Former! She is a talented, classy woman and I hope to be her when I grow up!

 

 

One response to “A must have, must read!

  1. Love Margaret’s book. There are some really cool stitch patterns that I hadn’t seen before like the Tunisian and shells stitch. Must try!

Leave a Reply

