Your wish is my command!

Happy Thanksgiving to all of the CLF Members in the USA. I don’t know about you all, but here on Camano Island it has been COLD! Unseasably cold, and somewhat tundra like, the North Sound is a bit quiet these days as snow and ice have rendered many house bound. I am always so grateful I crochet at these times when I am house bound, or forced into pedestrian activities (trust me yesturday I walked two miles uphill both ways in the snow…them are some big hills.)

That being said, I have not been inspired to write about crochet, because well, I’ve just been doing it. Getting fingerless gloves, and hats, and scarves and blankets done for Christmas presents, I am tickled pink to spend hours by the fire, hot cocoa or hot buttered rum within easy grasp, watching my hands dance with creative spurts of energy. It’s a cozy time. But, fear not, I never neglect you, dear readers, for too long a stretch! I know you want more information, I know that we are so underserved by the publishing world, that I shall not ever take too long a break from the blog.

So, I asked on the CLF Facebook page what more did you want to know about crochet, and two respondants asked about non-yarn projects, in particular Rag Rugs. So, off to Ravelry I went to search for patterns, and to give a bit of thought to the matter.

Some of the best bath mats I ever made years ago were out of old cotton bedsheets. I cut the strips about 2 inches wide, and with a Q hook crocheted them into giant wash clothes about 19 inches long by 14 inches wide, just single crochet rows. They were super absorbant, easily washed, and lasted forever!

Here’s a project with a free pattern from Suzie Johns for a cute little rag rug made out of t-shirt materials etc, you can make them out of any fabric, her directions are metric, but I find for t-shirts you want the fabric not less than 2 inches wide, often a bit wider because it is more fragile.

 

Other neat finds on Ravelry? Oh yes, yes there were a plenty! Check out some of these cool projects!

 Click on the photos to go to their pages on Ravelry!

Hope that gives you plenty of crochet inspiration! Remember if there is a technique you are interested learning more about, always feel free to give a shout on our Ravelry Group, CLF Headquarters HQ or on our Facebook Page!

I will leave you with one last thing, the CLF Website is finally back up and running, and I have spent a good part of the afternoon working on the redesign at home. I will let you know when I get it all polished and published. A face lift, a new way to look at us, and I’ve even figured out next years, crochet retreat theme!!

Leave a Reply

